PDA

View Full Version : Slider or Cabinet Saw?

Doug Mason
11-08-2006, 10:16 PM
As a hobbiest woodworker, I use a cabinet saw and it does everything I need--with the exception of sheet goods--in which case I use the Festool set-up. However, I notice that alot of people on SMC seem to lust after a sliding table saw (myself included--even though I have never used one and, so far as I can tell, have no need for one). But at what point does one cross the line of having a genuine need for a slider? If one isn't a professional cabinet/sheet goods worker, what is the use of a slider? Perhaps just safety and convienince? And if a woodworker builds primarily furniture, would the slider actually be a disadvantage compared to the cabinet saw?

Mark Singer
11-09-2006, 1:37 AM
A slider is great for shops where cabinets are made from sheet goods...like kitchens. The furniture or fine cabinet makers have a tradition of working with cabinet saws and that seems true today as well. David Marks, Sam Maloof, Krenov and most of the furniture makers on SMC seem to perfer the cabinet saw. I asked my friend Chris Federschon who teaches woodworking and a class in the tablesaw (he has a book as well he compiled on cabinet saws) and he said the slider just gets in the way. I like the intimacy of the cabinet saw. What comes of is a "rough" dimensioned piece anyway...from there it goes to the jointer ...planer...hand plane...back for final dimensioning using a sled on the cabinet saw.......so really...break down and dressing is an easy portion of the overall agenda in furniture making. A nice cabinet saw is fun to use also
just as you typically one find many handplanes in the shop of the sheet goods cabinet maker....sliders are not often the choice for furniture crafstman....they can be....but the cabinet saw still seems to reign

John Renzetti
11-09-2006, 10:29 AM