PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a new planer ?

Gary Breckenridge
11-07-2006, 3:55 PM
:) I have an older Ryobi AP10 planer. I bought it new years ago as it was the first lunch box planer. I was never really happy with it as it would only cut about 1/64" per pass and the feed speed was slow even with freshly sharpened blades. Is this the best that this machine can do ? I'm wondering if the new breed of lunch box planers would do a better job. I have been looking at the Delta 12 1/2" and the Delta two speed 13" planers.;) Will these machines actually plane 1/8" at a reasonable speed ? The new planer would probably be expected to plane about 30 feet of lumber per month.:)

Tom Henry
11-07-2006, 4:08 PM
I am fairly new at planing wood. With that said, I own the Delta and I am very happy with it so far.:D

Larry Fox
11-07-2006, 4:10 PM
I have the Delta 13" and I like it ok. It certainly does not compare to a floor-model (IMO) but it does a great job for what it is.

That said, 1/8" per pass is quite a bite and I don't ever take that much per pass so I can't say how it will do for you there.

Jerry Strojny
11-07-2006, 4:14 PM
The new breed of lunchbox planers are quite different than the 'ol Ryobi. The Delta 13" two speed is a very nice machine. I can handle most anything you through at it. I have the Rigid 13". It's a pretty good machine also. I think the Dewalt 735 has made people happy also. There are many to chose from that can handle 30 ft a month.

Ellen Benkin
11-07-2006, 4:31 PM
A 1/8" cut is expecting a lot from a benchtop planer. It's also a lot from a large floor model planer. The two speed machines do give you a nice finish cut, though.

Al Willits
11-07-2006, 4:43 PM
I think the DeWalt 13" goes for about $550 now, add the extended tables, and whatever else you want, I'm not sure if that's gonna be worth 30 bf a month, Also I think 1/8" might be pushing that planner too.
Might not get as much as you hoped for.