PDA

View Full Version : Rob's Workshop

Rob Bodenschatz
11-04-2006, 9:54 PM
Alright, here we go. I thought you may want to follow along for the building of my new workshop. I'll try to post as many pics as I can of the progress and I'll try to keep everyone updated as much as I can.

I've been at the Creek for about a year now so some of you know me. For those who don't, here's a quick intro. I'm a novice woodworker. I've done a few small things but nothing I'm especially proud of. Until this year, I basically worked on a $100 benchtop table saw and a benchtop bandsaw. I enjoyed working on projects but the limitations of the equipment was frustrating to me. Not only that, but I knew my TS especially was very unsafe. So, this year I made a committment to buy good equipment. Already I've noticed that I enjoy this hobby so much more. The tools do make a difference. Some of my purchases over the past year have been a PM2000 table saw, Delta X5 6" jointer, Dewalt planer, Grizzly bandsaw, Bessey clamps, Hitachi 12"SCMS, PC air compressor & nailers, dust collector, router. Picked up a five or six Bailey planes as well. I've built a rock solid but inexpensive bench, built some jigs (crosscut sled, router dado jig), and bought some cherry & walnut (thanks Mike Morgan!). The only project I've really had a chance to work on is my mudroom bench/cubbies. They're almost done so I'll provide pics when it's presentable. Not fine woodworking by any means but I learned a lot while making them. Speaking of learning, I've picked up so much great info from this and other sites. I don't know how people shared information before Al Gore came up with this thing called the internet. Wait, I know. Books and magazines. I love woodworking books and magazines. I've got more than I can count right now. FWW, Workbench, Popular WW, & ShopNotes are my favorites magazine right now. Setting Up Shop, The Workshop Book, Tablesaw Magic are some of my favorite books. As far as formal training goes, I've