PDA

View Full Version : What to do with this Maple Burl?

Rick de Roque
10-29-2006, 8:33 PM
I was helping my brother clean out a storage locker and I found this and he said he bought it about 5 years ago and said for helping him he gave this to me (gloat?). I have never worked with anything like this before so I need some ideas. Make a couple bowls? natual table top? etc. It is 37" x 26" x 3" thick.
Thanks,
Rick

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y118/rd4212/woodworking%20stuff/burl.jpg

Steve Wargo
10-29-2006, 8:35 PM
That's simple... Send it to me!
Nice score.

Rick de Roque
10-29-2006, 8:39 PM
That's simple... Send it to me!
Nice score.
What to do with maple burl? Except send it to someone else;)

Rick

John Michaels
10-29-2006, 8:40 PM
My vote would be a table. The upper left area that was cut with a saw could face the wall so it's not noticeable.

Corey Hallagan
10-29-2006, 9:04 PM
As a turner, wow.... I could think of several things. 3 inch thick is good. I would get some pen blanks out of it, couple vase blanks, bowl blank if you turn bowls... box blanks. Cool piece!

John Timberlake
10-29-2006, 9:25 PM
Looks like a really unique coffee table to me. Many options for legs.

Jim Becker
10-29-2006, 9:39 PM
Table top if it were in my shop... ;)

Jim Bell
10-30-2006, 12:36 AM
Bowls and platters
Jim
:)

Al Killian
10-30-2006, 1:44 AM
If it where up to me I would go for a table top. It is a exspensive junk of wood to cut into bowl blanks.

Chris Barton
10-30-2006, 7:08 AM
As someone that turns, does flat work (GWW) and veneer work, I think you have several options. Just looking at the slab I see a couple of bowls as possibilities and then you could turn the rest into pens, wine toppers, etc. Or, you could do the table top but, I would resaw it into two 1.5" pieces for that. And, lastly, what I would be most likely to do, take it to my big bandsaw and make about 30 sheets of veneer to use on other flatwork projects...

Rick de Roque
10-30-2006, 10:20 AM