PDA

View Full Version : Jointer Cutterheads?

ed cessna
10-26-2006, 9:09 PM
I’m going to be upgrading to an 8-inch jointer in the near future and am having trouble deciding which knife system to get. At $200+, is a spiral knife cutterhead really that much better than regular knives? At a cost of $400+, is a helical (4 sided cutters) cutterhead really worth the money?

Thanks for your opinions.
Ed

Dan Larson
10-26-2006, 10:40 PM
Hi Ed,

Welcome to SMC!

Earlier this year I upgraded my jointer/planer to from a 4 knife cutterhead to a helical.

Things I like about the helical head:

Cutting edges on carbide inserts are amazingly durable. I've been using it for several months now and haven't rotated any inserts yet... no signs of reduced cut quality.
Shearing cut is everything it's cracked up to be... very little tearout on figured boards. I've actually had good luck jointing the edges of baltic birch ply and even end grain maple!
Quiet. Very quiet. My cyclone makes more noise than the jointer does during a pass with a board. If your shop is in your basement, this can be a real advantage.The only minus that I've noticed with the helical head (other than the cost) is that the cut quality isn't quite as good as I've had with the old head with freshly sharpened knives. Don't get me wrong though, cut quality is still very good!

Worth the money? I'm satisfied.

Dan

Jay Goddard
10-27-2006, 12:18 PM
Dan,

In reading another thread on Byrd cutterheads one person mentioned an increase in the force necessary to run the board through vs. a standard straight knife head.

Have you seen this effect as well? I know it's very subjective, but about how much more force (10-20% ??) would you say is required to push it through?
I'd very much like to upgrade to a Byrd and just want to know what I'm in for.

Jay

Hi Ed,

Welcome to SMC!

Earlier this year I upgraded my jointer/planer to from a 4 knife cutterhead to a helical.

Things I like about the helical head: