PDA

View Full Version : Walnut and Poly

Ed Scolforo
10-24-2006, 6:24 AM
OK, guys, I need your advice. I just finished a walnut wedding platter for my daughter and am about to put a finish on it. It's sanded to 400 and I was going to use high gloss wipe on poly, which I've never used before. Of coarse, I HAD to search some threads on walnut finishing and find a few references saying to avoid poly. Now I'm not sure if I should or not. I don't want to mess it up at this point. I'm going to have it laser engraved, and the engraver suggested that I put on one coat before sending it to him. I don't know if using another finish, like an oil, prior to engraving would affect the lettering. Any thoughts about poly as a finish? Thanks, Ed

Bernie Weishapl
10-24-2006, 10:40 AM
Ed I use Waterlox on a lot of my walnut with excellent results. I am not sure about wipe on poly. I have also used Seal-A-Cell and Arm-R-Seal (General Finishes) with what I consider excellent results. Hopefully you will get some more advice but those have been my experiences so far.

Andy Hoyt
10-24-2006, 10:43 AM
Hey Ed. I've not worked with a lot of walnut, but on those pieces that did survive my butchery I've had good luck with tung oil and buffing; or gel poly and buffing. If the piece is intended to be a user, I'd lean towards gel poly.

I may be wrong here, but my assessment of wipe on poly is that it's a product designed to help the impatient. It dries quickly because it's been thinned down significantly. But since it's so thin, you need mutliple multiple multiple coats to achieve a durable finish. Which to me, means that it really doesn't save that much time over the long haul.

Lee DeRaud
10-24-2006, 11:09 AM