PDA

View Full Version : Storing wood???

Tom Henry
10-23-2006, 9:22 AM
I am new to buying rough lumber and I just purchased 100bf of oak from Mike Morgan. I stacked and stickered it on shelves in my 20x14 shed. It is very dry in there but no heat or air. Is there anything I need to know about moisture in the wood before I work with it? Am I even doing the right thing by stacking and stickering it? When I join and plane the wood, do I still have to sticker it?

Thanks
Tom:confused:

Jim Becker
10-23-2006, 9:28 AM
Michael's lumber is KD and doesn't require stickering, although I tend to use thin (1/4") stickers in my racks to allow a little air flow anyway. Your lumber will be fine in the shed as long as it's off the ground/floor. It's not a horrible idea to move the material you intend to use for a project into your shop prior to milling to let it acclimate to the air/moisture there. Just a few days is all that is required.

Ken Salisbury
10-23-2006, 9:32 AM
Tom,

The purpose of stickering is to allow maximum air flow in order to dry the lumber. Once your lumber has dried there is no advantage to stickering it.

Jeffrey Makiel
10-23-2006, 2:34 PM
Keep an eye on it because it could become termite bait. I've been amazed how agressive they can be. Even if there is a separation between the wood and the ground, keep an eye out for those little tell tale mud tubes.

-Jeff :)

Rob Bodenschatz
10-23-2006, 2:52 PM
Keep an eye on it because it could become termite bait.

I've got mine stored outside on pallets. Now you have me worried. Is there something I can do to prevent this?

Tom Henry
10-23-2006, 3:16 PM
The wood is stored in a wooden shed. So I think the shed would be first to go...

Jim Becker
10-23-2006, 4:53 PM
I've got mine stored outside on pallets. Now you have me worried. Is there something I can do to prevent this?