PDA

View Full Version : Yates American, info. please

Dale Gregory
10-23-2006, 8:20 AM
I'm new to turning and have only taken a few classes. I'm gearing up to buy my 1st lathe and was set on a Rikon Mini, Jet Mini, or a HFxxx06. Then I see this ad in the local paper for a Yates American, late 60's or early 70's model, 3/4hp single phase, 8-speed, 12x39 with outboard spindle on the left side. My question is do I go with this big lathe (think high school type lathe, weighing approx. 700 lbs.) or stick with a new mini? I eventually want to turn bowls and the Yates would handle that job better I'm guessing due to the heavy weight. He's wants $550 for it verses $220-279 for the Mini's. Is the Yates priced too high (no tools, chucks, etc., maybe live centers only)? Any lookouts? Which way would you guys go?

Don Orr
10-23-2006, 9:30 AM
...can be a real beast. Yates-American was a good name back in the day. You are right about the mass for turning bowls. If you go to look at it, make sure every thing is loose that should be loose, and what should be tight is tight. Check that the bearings are in good shape. Not super critical because they should be easy to replace. Some rust is not deadly either since it can be cleaned up. Depending on condition, I think it seems a little pricey. Make a reasonable offer and see what happens.

Also check out the Old Wood Working Machinery website; www.owwm.com (http://www.owwm.com) for more info. A serial or model number would be helpful there.

Good luck and post a photo if you get it.

Wilbur Pan
10-23-2006, 9:44 AM
You should stick with the mini lathe and then pass on the information on the Yates American to me so I can take it off the seller's hands. ;)