PDA

View Full Version : Another Hobbs Cupboard

Ben Hobbs
10-20-2006, 11:12 AM
As many of you have seen, I and my three sons got together to build four corner cupboards earlier this year as a reproduction of a local Perquimans Co. NC piece from the 18th century. I had the pleasure of measuring the original to get ready for the boys to come last January. Two of the cupboards have been posted here previously:

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=44506

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=37237

Like the others, mine is walnut and cypress, cut and milled locally (like the original). Finished with aniline dye and shellac. Hardware from Ball and Ball that I ordered custom made to match the original.

As my boys are now away from home, we are trying to establish annual get-togethers to build furniture together. I have been building furniture full-time since 1980 or so and each of my sons have had a part in the business through helping me out after school to continuing the tradition at their own shops in Missouri, Alabama, and Durham, NC. We also teach many others at our shop in our furniture classes held every month.

If anyone has any comments or questions, they would be appreciated.

Thanks for looking, Ben

lou sansone
10-20-2006, 11:56 AM
hi Ben
great piece of furniture. It would neat if someone assembled a book of the varieties of all the 18th century corner cupboards. Many were built- in, like the one in my early 18th century home. mine is extremely primitive, while others in the same time frame are much more elaborate like your example ( minus the feet ). The cypress is used as a secondary wood I assume. I see that you paint the inside of your cupboard. Did you do it when the piece was fully assembled or did you do parts ahead of time. I guess another question is what order to build the case. Back/sides and then front ?

Thanks for sharing it with us.

Lou

Reg Mitchell
10-20-2006, 12:05 PM