PDA

View Full Version : Cracks in bowls - Photos and Question

Ephraim Stern
10-07-2006, 7:05 PM
Hi, I am new to these forums. I am a newbie wood turner with many questions and this looks like a great place to find knowledgeable people with turning experience.

I recently purchased a Delta Lathe for the company that I work for and I decided to take a look and see how it works. Since then I have been spending all my free time in the shop relaxing on the lathe.

Two of the bowls that I turned cracked on me and I am not sure why. I was browsing the web for answers and I found this forum.

The first is a natural bowl turned from a piece of cherry that I got on EBay. When I turned this bowl the wood was moist inside and showered me with cool shavings. I turned it to about 3/8" and went home, when I returned the next day it had all the cracks that you see in the photo. Is there some way to prepare the wood so that it does not crack?

My next cracked bowl was on my second segmented bowl made from a variety of woods. The Dark wood in the center of the pain cracked a day after the piece was finished. A few of the joints are no longer flush and it appears as if the wood is trying to curl.

If my memory serves me right that wood is called Bocote. When I first tried to glue it the glue did not hold since the wood appeared to be very oily so I tried soaking the wood in Acetone before I glued it and then the joint held. This bowl was also turned very thin around 1/8"

Thank you in advance for any advice.

Dennis Peacock
10-07-2006, 7:15 PM
Ephraim,

I have an article in the Articles/Reviews section of SMC on processing a bowl blank. The most successful method I've found so far is the Denatured Alcohol Drying Method introduced by Dave Smith.

Welcome to SMC and post more of your work. Looking good!!!!

Ephraim Stern
10-07-2006, 8:34 PM
Dennis,