PDA

View Full Version : Lathe problem

Bob Hallowell
10-05-2006, 12:35 PM
I am fairly new to turning, several months ago I bought a barely used grizzly, It looks just like the habour frieght model. It has the rotating head for turning bowls and such.
My problem is that no matter how hard I tighten the head stock bolts down if I but a little pressure with the tailstock it starts tipping back the headstock. This is not a problem when I turn pens cause I don't use much pressure but it a major pain for spindles.

Is there an east fix for this?

Thanks,Bob

Bill Boehme
10-05-2006, 12:55 PM
It sounds like you have a cracked casting on the bed of the lathe or possibly the headstock itself. The first place to check would be around the bolt holes. Overtightening can crack cast iron.

This potentially is bad news because the cracking may have propagated and will only get worse. Welding cast iron is risky business because it is very difficult to do without creating internal stresses in the iron which will either warp the casting or cause further cracking or both.

If the problem turns out to be at the bolt holes, you could try drilling new holes at a different location if that is possible.

Bill

Don Baer
10-05-2006, 1:03 PM
Is the head stock lifting off of the bed or is it tipping back from where it swivels. It could be in the mechanism that locks the head stock in place where it swivels or something there. Not sure since I haven't seen the lathe up close and personal.

Bill Boehme
10-05-2006, 1:29 PM