PDA

View Full Version : Spindle not lining up

Christopher Knight
10-04-2006, 7:05 PM
I am having trouble getting the headstock and tailstock to line up properly. I am new at turning so my terminology may be incorrect so I hope I can correctly convey my issue.

The “pointy” piece that is inserted into the tailstock is not revolving around the axis, but rather is rotating in an oval pattern. I have taken out the spindle and mounted it on my woodbench and it is revolving about the axis correctly. But when the “pointy” piece is inserted, the point is rotating in an oval. It is enough that it is causing the work to be non-symmetrical.

Is the solution to get a new “pointy” piece, or whatever it is called, or could it be an issue with the spindle? Attached is a pic of the two spindles. You can see that they are off by just a fraction, but you can really tell it when you get a piece of wood and start spinning.

John Shuk
10-04-2006, 8:21 PM
I've found this to be pretty nice. It was a gift suggested to my wife by the previous owner of my jet 1236. I found it really useful and easy to use. Just takes a second and never a problem. I always use it after returning the head to being "in line" It is just a double ended Morse taper and it lines things up perfectly.

http://www.packardwoodworks.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=packard&Product_Code=113121&Category_Code=lathes-acc-mrstool

Jim Becker
10-04-2006, 10:27 PM
Christopher, what make and model lathe do you have? Assuming your centers are themselves not defective, knowing what machine will help us suggest a solution.

Bill Boehme
10-05-2006, 1:42 AM
The amount of misalignment that you have is a nit and I would not waste my time worrying about it. If the point has a set screw or is spring loaded, that may be the reason that it is not concentric with the cup center.