PDA

View Full Version : Laser usage

Dave Chase
10-02-2006, 8:46 PM
Hi All,

I had an interesting question posed to me today and I'm not sure if I can answer it accurately. Are there any detrimental effects to storing a laser for extended periods of time without use? By extended I mean 18-24 months without powering it up. I'm new to the engraving world and thought I would ask the experts:)

James Stokes
10-03-2006, 4:24 AM
This is not something you want to do. I am having a laser tube recharged right now because of non use.

Ben Levesque
10-03-2006, 11:18 AM
This is not something you want to do. I am having a laser tube recharged right now because of non use.

ok, so how long a non use should the laser not surpass?

Rob Bosworth
10-03-2006, 11:33 AM
We refurbish and go through a bunch of used laser engraving machines every year. The ones that give us a huge amount of headaches are the ones that haven't been used. Of course the owners' of these machines think their system should be worth what they paid for them orignally. Its kinda like inheriting Grandma's 25 year old car with 27,000 miles on it. Sounds great until you have to keep it running. The seals dry out. The rubber boots dry out. Sludge builds up in the gas tank. Tires craze and crack. To say nothing about the old fluids that just sit in the system.

I read recently on one of these forums, that a fellow said he likes to go turn his system on once a week and let it run flat out for 15 minutes. Now that might be going a little overboard, but it couldn't hurt. We have a number of customers who buy machines every year who ask about buying a spare laser to keep on the shelf in case theirs fail. Unless the rotate them through, we almost always recommend they do not need to do that.