PDA

View Full Version : Cheap Lathe advise

Hank Stankovich
10-02-2006, 7:50 PM
I was just jacking around in Menard's one day and came across a "Tool Shop" lathe and it was inexpensive ($135) so I decided, what the hell. I bought that and the cheap "Tool Shop" tools as well. I have been using it for 2 months and now the cheap base (aluminum?) is starting to bow up when I tighten the stock and it gets worse every time. I started strapping it down, but now the motor is starting to tilt up.Other than that I was surpised at how well it works. I have turned approx 30 quality (PERFECT!...imo) ash bats so far. Each model hits very nice.

My question!

Can I salvage the motor and jimmy-rig the tail stock to a different base? The 2 bars that the tail stock and tool rest is perfectly fine, but the aluminum base and casiing is starting to bend up and outward. Can I bolt it to steel or should I just pony up for a better lathe? Plus, it's annoying to have to clamp it to a work bench everytime.

Suggestions???

Corey Hallagan
10-02-2006, 9:33 PM
Hank, I would salvage the motor to make a grinder of buffer out of it or something and get a different lathe. For about 40.00 dollars you could have gotten the PSI Turncrafter Pro ($179.00) which is a Jet clone with a 1/2 HP Motor and works like a champ. I have been using mine since january and it comes with a 3 year warranty. I love it. There are lots of lathes to choose from their on up!

Corey

Bernie Weishapl
10-02-2006, 11:42 PM
I definately wouldn't jury rig anything because of accuracy. My brother tried it one time and when he returned bowls he could never get them back on the so called lathe the same way twice. I would look at the Turncrafter which you can now get in variable speed, the Rikon is on sale for $219.99, the Delta Midi or the Jet mini. You can have any one of those for under $300. I think in the long run you will be a much happier camper. Just my $1.298

Bruce Shiverdecker
10-02-2006, 11:45 PM