PDA

View Full Version : Opinion Wanted

john whittaker
10-02-2006, 5:50 PM
I'm building a classic style book case for a young man who just passed his bar exam. This will be a free standing tall unit and I want it to look better than a store bought book shelf. His wood choice is mahogany. Probably will use some 3/4" mahogany ply for the case and boards for the bottom casing, top crown and trim....and adding flutes etc to dress it up.

Question is...I have never used mahogany before (for furniture) and wanted some opinions on finishing and grain filling. If it were a table top I would definitely fill the grain but I'm not sure if a mahogany ply panel used for the side walls or shelves will need filling.

What finish would you put on a project like this? And would you fill the grain?

Thanks

Chris Baer
10-04-2006, 12:56 AM
John, I don't know what to tell you about filling the grain I'm not that far along in wood working yet but far as finishing I have sold many of mahogany doors in the past few years. What type of species might help you determin which way you want to go with the stain. For example Brazilian Mahogany and Philipine mahogany, both with beautiful grain paterns but I feal Philipine looks better with a more dark red finish and Brazilian with a mor e medium finish. But it's all personal taste and also what will be in the room with it. If you can find out what type of funiture it will be around and if a dark finish would work with the room and not make it look to small. These are things I always used when I helped people determin the color to go with for their doors. Please posts the picks when you are finished I would love to see what you end with.

Jamie Buxton
10-04-2006, 11:50 AM
Filling or not filling the grain is an esthetic choice. Me, I like wood to look like wood, and don't fill the grain.