PDA

View Full Version : I need help coiling a bandsaw blade please?

Kevin Blunt
10-01-2006, 7:20 PM
Hey guys, I have a few blades for my bandsaw that need to be coiled for storage reasons. I have seen the tips on how to do it by placing one foot on it but I don't like that option as I am scared of damaging the blade or possibly ruining the set of the teeth in areas. If anyone could direct me on how to do it easily, I woulld greatly appreciate it.
Thanks in advance.
Kevin

Per Swenson
10-01-2006, 7:31 PM
Kevin,

See if this helps,

Per

Mack Cameron
10-01-2006, 7:32 PM
Kevin; Drive down here, I'll give you a hands-on lesson. No charge!

Al Navas
10-01-2006, 8:13 PM
Here (http://www.newwoodworker.com/coilbsblde.html) is a short video on how to do it properly. Click on the first image for the Windows Media File.

Al

Bruce Page
10-01-2006, 8:25 PM
Al, that's exactly how I have been doing it for 30+ years. Everything from little 14" blades to large industrial blades. I haven't damaged a blade yet. Kevin, if you are worried about ruining the set of the teeth use a piece of wood as shown in the video.

Jake Helmboldt
10-01-2006, 8:53 PM
have you ever folded one of those silver sunshades for your windshield? It is done the same way.

1. Hold the blade with the teeth facing away from you, at the 4 & 8 o'clock position (like a steering wheel)
2.Thumbs against the back edg of the blade (thumbs up) roll your wrists inward and your thumbs downward (so they are pointing away from you)

This causes the loop to double over and also cross over itself (by pushing forward and in towards the middle.

Keep rolling your wrists inward and the loop will wrap down towards teh floor and then back up towards you and right to your hands, making three loops of blade. Once you figure it out it is very easy. Start with a small blade first.

Jake

Charlie Plesums
10-01-2006, 10:15 PM