PDA

View Full Version : Question about sharpening chisels ?

jay hanks
10-14-2003, 3:51 PM
I am new to sharpening and I am using scary sharp but my question is really about lapping the chisel. I have some older stanley chisles that have light pitting farther back from the edge. My question is this how clean should I make the back with lapping, should it be smooth with no pitting visible, or is that just personal prefrence as to its look? I dont think it would hurt performance since the area with pitting is smooth to the touch. Thanks Jay

Alan Turner
10-14-2003, 4:23 PM
I am new to sharpening and I am using scary sharp but my question is really about lapping the chisel. I have some older stanley chisles that have light pitting farther back from the edge. My question is this how clean should I make the back with lapping, should it be smooth with no pitting visible, or is that just personal prefrence as to its look? I dont think it would hurt performance since the area with pitting is smooth to the touch. Thanks Jay
Jay,
I am an old tool guy. My Wiitherby's and Stanley 750's are the best chisels I have. They do require some initial time investment, as you have discovered.
Truly sharp is when two planes intersect at a thickness of one atom (plus or minus, of course). So, if there is pitting at the actual cutting edge, that spot will not be sharp. In terms of lapping, all you need to be really polished on the flat side is a very little bit. Theoretically, 1/64" would be sufficient. I rarely go back more than 1/2" or so as lapping is boring and quite time consuming. If you have pitting that is not actually at the cutting edge, then don't worry about it till you grind far enough back to hit it. Then just go a bit further.
Alan

jay hanks
10-14-2003, 4:34 PM
Alan, Thank you for the reply. That is kinda what I thought but being new to sharpening chisels I didnt want to get started on the wrong foot. Thanks Jay

Tyler Howell
10-14-2003, 7:18 PM