PDA

View Full Version : Pen Turning

Daniel Heine
09-20-2006, 11:24 AM
Hello,

I am still fairly new to the turning world, and have a question/problem. I turned a pen for my wife a few weeks ago, sanded it to 4000 grit, then sealed and buffed it with Hut friction polish. I used Bocote, and it was very nice whn done. Last night I saw it laying on the table, picked it up, and was suprised to find the surface was rough, and I could feel the grain of the wood very distinctly. How do avoid this from happening again? Should I sand, seal, dry overnight, and repeat?

Thanks for all of your help.

Happy Turning,
Daniel Heine

Don Baer
09-20-2006, 11:39 AM
Daniel,
Hut is a wax and while it will make the pen shine it won't protect the pen from the seat of human contact. While I don't do pens I always use some sort of finish to protect the wood then it you want to make it shinyer then you can use hut. Some folks use CA glue as a finish, some use it mixed with other stuff, I'm sure some pen turners can give you some suggestions as to there favorite finish.

Frank Kobilsek
09-20-2006, 2:11 PM
Daniel

You are about to get 10 different recipes so let me be the first to give you my finish procedure.

1) Sand with the lathe running fairly slow 500 RPM. As you proceed up the grits reverse the lathe at about 320 grit, this bend the fiber the opposite direction and cuts them off. Return to normal rotation. Sand to about 600 grit. On stabilized wood or very very hard wood higher grits may be called for but on your bocote sanding over 600 probably did not add benefit. Between each grit use the next grit to sand the pen long ways by hand.
2) Seal with a 50/50 mixture of Deft Wiping Laquer and Laquer thinner. Buff this dry with paper towel and lathe running at higher speed, 2000+RPM.
3) Use EEE polish as dircted on the product. THis is a wax based polish with tripoli mixed in.
4) Apply friction polish of your choice, ie. Hut or Mylands as directed with a cotten towel (piece of old t-shirt)