PDA

View Full Version : A "bad luck" first

Terry Quiram
09-18-2006, 6:59 AM
I have been turning and using a chain saw for almost 4 years and this is the first metal object I have run into. These were deep inside a 22" Persimon. Probably some little boy playing. Can't say I didn't do that when I was a kid. Did not make my day. At least I didn't shuck any teeth and the chain can be re-sharpened.

Terry

Mark Cothren
09-18-2006, 8:48 AM
That stinks, Terry. I found some barbed wire buried up in a trunk back a few months ago. Also a not-so-nice surprise...

Dennis Peacock
09-18-2006, 9:26 AM
Terry,

I know how you feel. I've found barbed wire in one piece before and my most interesting piece was a chunk of dry walnut I got from Bobby Hatfield a few years back. Started turning the outside and wound up finding over 50 bullets confined within a 6 inch area near the heart of the tree. Now, this walnut chunk was pretty big and from my "ring counting" it was just over 100 years old. It's my guess that somebody was target praticing on that walnut tree MANY years ago. Didn't really bother me so bad since it was all lead bullets.

I have heard of a turner finding a horseshoe inside a piece before!!!!:eek: :eek:

Bernie Weishapl
09-18-2006, 10:34 AM
Terry that is to bad. I found the same thing as Dennis. I found in the center of a ash tree around 20 lead bullets. As near as I could tell these were fired around 110 to 115 yrs ago. There used to be a sod house about 300 feet from that tree. I have also ran into fencing staples.

Steve Clardy
09-18-2006, 11:25 AM
Yes. Been there, done that:( :( ;) :D

Try sawing a ceramic insulator in half. It doesn't work.:mad:

Keith Outten
09-18-2006, 11:34 AM