PDA

View Full Version : Help -- Dust Collection

Scot Ferraro
09-11-2006, 9:34 PM
Hi everyone,

I am new to SMC but I am glad that I found this site. I have enjoyed reading alot of the posts and I have learned a few things already. I am in need of upgrading my dust collection. I have researched Mr. Pentz's site, conducted lots of research on the web as well as reviews in magazines, etc.... and I think that I am even more confused than when I started. The fact of the matter is that I do not have the room for central dust collection -- Clear Vue or any other type of stationary cyclone unit. I wish I did and someday....but, with that said, what would SMC's woodworkers recommend? I see that Oneida has a new "portable" cyclone unit that seems appealing and it looks like this might be one way to go, but does it filter the fine dust good enough or is it just an expensive chip collector (which I already own one). Does anyone have any experience with this unit -- it's pretty new? I have a Delta air cleaner mounted on the ceiling and as I said, room is at a premium. I can live with hooking the collector up to each machine as I need to use them.

I also have another question -- I have an overhead saw guard (Excaliber) on my table saw. What is the best way to connect both of these to a portable? It seems that flex-hose and a "y" connector might be too inefficient but maybe that is because my portable Penn- State just does not have the CFM to cut it.

I appreciate any and all comments/recommendations Thanks in Advance.

Scot

Julio Navarro
09-11-2006, 11:11 PM
Scott:

It sounds like your options are very limited.

Any small system you use would need to be supplimented by shop vac hook ups.

I have a 3hp cyclone I built using Bill Pentz's design and I still have need to use the old shop vac to get to places I cant run a duct or hose.

Good luck how ever you solve it.

Chris Padilla
09-11-2006, 11:37 PM
Scot,