PDA

View Full Version : Argh, I hate back injuries

Gary Herrmann
09-11-2006, 11:39 AM
Pulled or tore something in my lower back yesterday. I'm off today and tomorrow anyway, but I had shop time planned.

It hurts just sitting here, so I probably won't be going downstairs. I'll see if it gets better. If not, I'll call the doc and see what she says. Hopefully, I at least won't make it worse.

I kinda doubt I'm gonna be attaching my new lathe stand top (3 3/4 pieces of MDF thick) to the carcase today...

ARGH

Joe Pelonio
09-11-2006, 1:52 PM
:eek: Ouch! I have that happen once or twice a year it seems. I have found that if you lay on your back the floor and bring your knees toward your head it stretches your back and helps. I also found that sleeping in a recliner rather than a bed helps, and usually within 3-4 days it's back to normal. I now do that stretching bit prior to any heavy lifting. I am not a doctor of any kind, so take this as just what is is, something suggested to my wife by her doctor once that seems to help my back.

Hope it gets better soon.

Gary Herrmann
09-11-2006, 2:02 PM
Thanks Joe. I did something like this a couple years ago. You're right stretching does help, I just need to wait a day or so for the muscles to relax a bit. Don't want to get them any more aggravated than they already are.

Kirk (KC) Constable
09-11-2006, 2:22 PM
If I don't tend to it, mine will do this a couple times a year. It won't get better until I go get 'aligned' by the chiropractor. Still hurts for a day or two because of the strain, but it's back where it should be. I can usually tell when I'm getting close to having a problem because one foot and the opposite hip will start hurting as I compensate. I've been lucky the past maybe 18 months by getting it 'fixed' before I actually pull it all the way and can't move. Much easier to do the maintenance than the 'repair'.

Chiropractors get a bad rap sometimes, but finding and knowing a good one is a happy thing. :)

KC