PDA

View Full Version : trimetal, bimetal or carbide tipped?

Harley Lewis
09-08-2006, 12:17 PM
I am thinking I need a better/new bandsaw blade for resawing. I am currently running a 1" timberwolf on my Grizzly 17" saw, and it does fine but it is starting to show signs of dulling. I have done a search and I have read what I can find regarding blades but I don't see direct comparisons

The Lenox trimetal blade is about the same cost (about $150) as the carbide tipped Lenox from Grizzly, which is the better way to go -- or are they the same blade?

Thanks, Harley

Bartee Lamar
09-08-2006, 12:32 PM
These people were at IWF. Their stuff "looks" good and the prices seem really good.

http://www.supercutbandsaw.com/ (http://www.supercutbandsaw.com/)

If anyone has any info or has used their blades it would be interesting to know.

tod evans
09-08-2006, 2:14 PM
harley, what do you want the blade to do? and what`s your budget? i have a lennox trimaster that gives fantastic cuts in kiln dried wood but i don`t run it all the time because of cost. if i just need to split a board in two i`ll use a timberwolf bandmill blade. they take a bigger kerf and wear out quicker but replacement is much cheaper......it`s really a balancing act as to what you`re doing and what results you need vs cost.....02 tod

Harley Lewis
09-08-2006, 3:42 PM