PDA

View Full Version : Rockwell Model 10 - Contractors Saw

Tom Grice
09-04-2006, 10:25 PM
I am a newer woodworker, and have been looking for a good used contractor's saw on craigslist, here, local classifieds, etc.

I'm looking for a good basic saw, with good accuracy and repeatability. At some point, I may look at a newer contractor saw or hybrid - but right now I am looking for something a little less pricy.

I see a lot of Rockwell Model 10 saws coming up for sale locally (a couple are listed right now) - and I was hoping someone here has some experience with them and can let me know the good and bad points about them - and what a good price for one of these saws might be. One of the saws has a Shop Fox fence and looks brand new, the other looks stock and is is questionable shape (rusty table, etc). I have yet to check out either saw in person - wanted to see what opinions here were first.

Thanks for the help!

Bruce Wrenn
09-04-2006, 10:48 PM
I inherited a model 10. It has solid CI wings ( not stamped steel). The assembly inside cabinet is a single casting, no round steel tie bars. It is a sweet saw. Only major problem is switch location-What were they thinking? But doesn't matter as I will add a low voltage magnetic switch. Delta probably changed to tie bars as they are cheaper to make. I have to choose, get rid of current contractors, or keep model 10. Currently local craiglist has one for $75. Worth that to get CI wings alone. Rusty top can be a bargining point. Fence would't scare me either as often see Uni fences for $150 on the list. I just make my own Bies. clones though.

Jeff Cybulski
09-05-2006, 10:31 PM
I've had a Model 10 for about 6 years ( traded a Pro-Tech bench top for it). It's the predeceser to today's Delta contractor saw but built better - more cast and less stamped steel. I've added a 50" Jet Xacta and a link belt. I run mine on 220v and have no problems unless I'm into some 6/4. Definite buy

Jeff

Tom Grice
09-09-2006, 3:02 PM