PDA

View Full Version : Garage Workshop Planning Question(s)

Michael Em
09-04-2006, 8:56 PM
Hey Everyone,

Newbie here again. I'm still awaiting a ton of books I've ordered, but I'm already dreaming (ok, drooling) over turning the garage into a beautiful work area. After listening to all the great comments from everyone, I am now aware that I must do some serious planning.

For the first part, I drew up the floorplan of my garage in AutoCAD. I gave some overall dimensions so you guys can see how big it is. The house was only built 2 years ago, so it is a very new house, with new (existing) wiring.

Currently, there are two 110v outlets in the entire garage. I'm definitely going to need more, but how many more? From the tools I am looking to order later this year and next year (joiner, G0513 bandsaw, floordrill, cyclone, etc) I think I am going to need at least two 220v outlets. But, as someone mentioned, I can only run one tool at once.

Can you guys estimate just how many I'll need? I got overly excited and started drawing up plans for some cabinetry along the west wall. Also, I want to put lights underneath the upper cabinets to light up the work area, so I guess those will need outlets and a switch too.

In addition, the whole garage has one light in the middle. It's ridiculous. I can barely see when it's on at night, so I definitely want to add a lot more ceiling light for when I'm working in there with the garage door closed and at night. On the floorplan, the blue line splitting the garage in two is actually just a groove in the concrete floor. I felt important to identity it's placement to know that it will probably be a pain the a$$ to move heavy tools across it.

The unfortunate part is that the garage still needs to be used for one vehicle, so that will definitely eat up some space.

I have also posted a pic of the existing box on the side of the house (opposite side that the garage is on...wouldn't ya know it!).