PDA

View Full Version : Cracks in ceiling

Joe Tonich
10-07-2003, 8:46 PM
I have a crack in my ceiling that I need to repair. It's not drywall but that "gray" sheetrock if it matters. I've used Spackel but it just comes back. Taping it really isn't an option as I'm not that good at it and I know it would stand out like a sore thumb. Is caulking a solution? I was thinking of using a rubberized caulk that would move with it. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Joe

Ken Garlock
10-07-2003, 8:59 PM
Hi Joe.

From what you said, I would find the ceiling joists and run some drywall screws through the sheetrock and into the joists. I suspect that the sheetrock is loose and drooping thus causing the crack to reopen. Putting some screws in the ceiling should pull the sheetrock back into position. If you have made several patches on the crack, you may have to remove some of the spackling in the crack before you run the screws in. I think I would dig out the crack, run in the screws, fill the screw holes and crack with drywall compound.

This is all based upon having never seen the crack or the ceiling.

Free advice is worth what you paid. ;)

Joe Tonich
10-07-2003, 9:31 PM
Hi Joe.

From what you said, I would find the ceiling joists and run some drywall screws through the sheetrock and into the joists. I suspect that the sheetrock is loose and drooping thus causing the crack to reopen. Putting some screws in the ceiling should pull the sheetrock back into position. If you have made several patches on the crack, you may have to remove some of the spackling in the crack before you run the screws in. I think I would dig out the crack, run in the screws, fill the screw holes and crack with drywall compound.

This is all based upon having never seen the crack or the ceiling.

Free advice is worth what you paid. ;)

Thanks Ken,

Didn't think of posting pic's. The crack is between the dining room & living room.

Joe

Tony Falotico
10-07-2003, 9:51 PM