PDA

View Full Version : Sneak Preview

Tony Falotico
08-28-2006, 6:20 AM
Wasn't going to show this until completed, but I can't wait no longer. This is a piece I've been working on for several months. It's hard Maple and Walnut, the sides are bent laminations. Just finished assembly yesterday, still needs to be final shaped where the shelves and sides meet, final sanding / scraping and finish. I'm planning the BLO / poly routine for finishing unless someone has a better suggestion. There is some real nice curl and figure in the maple that I would like to accent it with the finish.

Thoughts, comments, suggestions and critique are requested.

Mike Cutler
08-28-2006, 6:57 AM
That's going to be an attention getter. The lines create an optical illusion of sorts. It's a beautiful piece of work. Very nice. The contrasting colors of the differing woods look good together.

Wish I could help with the fininshing question, but finishing ain't exactly my strong suit.

Randy Long
08-28-2006, 8:38 AM
Wow!
I like it! Kind of looks like a step-ladder.
I realy like seeing the un-conventional.

Please Sir, Can I have some more?

Jim Becker
08-28-2006, 9:43 AM
Tony, that's a really neat project! Thanks for the "pre-view"!!

Regarding your finish, consider "what color" you want this piece to end up being. Using BLO and most varnishes (including "poly") is going to amber it up a lot. If you want to stay lighter/whiter, forget the BLO and use a soya oil based varnish, like Pratt and Lamber #38 (slight ambering) or lacquer. (clear). Do some tests on scrap of the same material to find out what you like the best.

Rick Doyle
08-28-2006, 9:50 AM
Hi Tony, that is a very, unique, interesting and great looking project. Nice job! Whatever finish you choose, it is going to look very good!

Doug Shepard
08-28-2006, 9:56 AM
Tony - I think it's time you bought a better straight-edge. That one you've got just aint cutting it.:D

Seriously - it turned out great.

Martin Lutz
08-28-2006, 10:12 AM