PDA

View Full Version : engraving acrylic awards

Abdul Baseer Hai
08-27-2006, 9:46 PM
Hi all
Need some pointers on engraving good quality clear acrylic awards. i have never done these before so any help would be appreciated e.g;
Should i mirror engrave?
Should i mask both sides?
I have a GCC 50 watt machine.
Any suggestions on settings?

and whatever other do's and don'ts i should know to get a good quality result
thanks
Abdul

Joe Pelonio
08-28-2006, 8:32 AM
Those come in a variety of shapes. If you plan to do a bunch of them, trace the shape with a black sharpie, scan, and use to center the text.
Then when you go to engrave, some of the odd shaped ones are flat only on the base, so it may help to do it upside down so the flat part can be up against the 'x' rule, or even make a jig for the shape.

I think they look a lot better reverse engraved on the back side.

On my 45 watt I use 100% speed 50 pwr 400 dpi.

Abdul Baseer Hai
08-28-2006, 9:42 AM
Hi Joe, Rodney and Mike (Miken)
Thank you all for the quick response.

The outline trace and scan is a wonderful idea. I have to do 24 items, oddly shaped, (diamond, star and slanted rectangle). They are expensive pieces and i cant afford to try a sample. It has to be right the first time. This customer will require these items every month so I have to put my best foot forward.
The outline trace, coupled with the centering option suggested by rodney sounds like a good mix if I want to do one item at a time.
For repetitive work, I may create the outline, repeat it in corel, vector it on coroplast board and walla!! i have a jig.

The supplier does not know whether the items are extruded or cast. I am assuming all of them would be cast, if not then do I have to paint fill? Any suggestions on this. I dont want a colored finish, just a frosy white.
Keep it coming folks.

Thanks again

Bachi

Joe Pelonio
08-28-2006, 10:06 AM