PDA

View Full Version : need some good advise

Kevin Z. Johnson
08-24-2006, 12:07 PM
to my new brain trust.

I have a universal engraver that I have been using for about 2 years. I has been working fine but we are having some issues with cleaning we use to have the time to do it, but are running out of it, do to our production levels.
here is my question, I have been told that I need an air assist to eliminate some of the smoke that is collecting on the plastic (we cut one material limited plastic) to reduce the time that is spent on cleaning the product. what I need is to conform that is what is need or if there is something else that is needed. (there is a exhaust system in place)
I have not been a very good student of the engrave just working on building the business and let the engraver do it's thing.

thanks for your comments,

Mike Null
08-24-2006, 12:37 PM
There are several things you should consider: 1. Be sure your exhaust system is adequate and functioning properly. 2. Check your settings. Too many people tend to overpower the cutting process which will result in burning. You should set it to just barely cut through the material. Try cutting on two or even three passes at higher speeds and lower power. 3. Try a paper mask especially on acrylics. That will require a higher power setting but it wil reduce clean-up. 4. Be sure your work is elevated off the table with some device which will allow smoke and residue to be exhausted from beneath the material. This will aid in keeping the bottom of your work clean as well.

Mike Mackenzie
08-24-2006, 2:47 PM
Z,

What exactly are you cutting maybe we can suggest some settings and or suggestions to help.

Joe Pelonio
08-24-2006, 4:46 PM
Z,