PDA

View Full Version : Dumb Finish question

Jim Harsha
10-04-2003, 11:29 PM
I have never used oil as finish before (usually lacquer or poly). I just finished a new maple workbench top and need to protect it from glue etc as well as keep it from drying too much here in the desert. Watco, BLO and Danish oil have been recommended. Which one of these dries the clearest but still enhaces the grain? Thanks.

Feeling ignorant in Tucson.

David Rose
10-05-2003, 1:22 AM
Jim, you did say WORKbench? If I ever build a "real" one, I probably won't put anything on it. I would be nice to have some glue resistance, but I'm not sure which would help the most. I would probably use BLO as all of it should soak in with no surface film. That's just me. The "makeshift" benches I've made so far are simply finished with dings and chisel marks and such.

David

Byron Trantham
10-05-2003, 6:27 AM
I agree with David. Bench tops get too much abuse to make them pretty. I covered mine with Formica thinking it would hold up and look nice. Wrong. After about one year there were stains from various chemicals, lacquer, stain, shellac you name it. I think that no matter what you put on it, one hammer blow will get through to the wood and create great glue spot (a spot where clue can stick).

Phil Phelps
10-05-2003, 7:11 AM
I agree with David. Bench tops get too much abuse to make them pretty. I covered mine with Formica thinking it would hold up and look nice. Wrong. After about one year there were stains from various chemicals, lacquer, stain, shellac you name it. I think that no matter what you put on it, one hammer blow will get through to the wood and create great glue spot (a spot where clue can stick).

Byron: I have two 5'x12' tables coverd in "white" formica. They wern't built for wood work tables, but they are now. Have you ever poured lacquer thinner on the table and scrubbed it? Works like magic. Helps to have a little ventilation!!!
You knew that, though.

Joe Tonich