PDA

View Full Version : My first table saw, and router.

Michael Em
08-21-2006, 11:18 PM
Hey everyone,

I finally bit the bullet and bought my first router, a DW618PC, and ordered my first table a saw, a Grizzly 1023 SLX. That's all I could afford for now. The only other tools I have are a Bosch jigsaw, 12" DW miter saw, a DW Circular Saw and a DW drill.

My first question: Could someone please tell me which books I need to read so that I don't cut off my arm with the table saw? I want to learn how to properly use this tool and safety is my number one priority when I think about woodworking. I have zero prior experience, but damn it all looks like so much fun I want to try.

My second question: Decent book on routers for newbies? I want to learn how to use them and what the heck their capabilities are. I'm guessing I need a table for it? I saw those in the Grizzly catalog.

My third question: How bad do I need one of those Joiners? Those things are expensive too and I probably won't be able to afford one for another few months at least. I was looking at an 8" x 76" from Grizzly but I have no clue if it's good or not or how to use it?

So as you can see, I'm a am total newbie....insert jokes here..... :)

Alternatively, if there are threads that already cover these subjects, then kindly point the way. :D

Thanks for any comments and/or suggestions and I look forward to my first project whatever that may be? I'm not even sure what I can build yet given the small range of tools I have.

Michael

Greg Koch
08-21-2006, 11:27 PM
Michael,

Congrats...(becomes official with pic posting!:D )

I'm new to woodworking too and got the books "Table Saw Magic" and "Router Magic". They are really good and worth having. You can get them on Amazon.

Take care, learn lots and enjoy!

Greg

Michael Em
08-21-2006, 11:47 PM
Here's a pic of the router. And that would be my ever so curious weim Racer looking on. He will be the official shop quadriped. :D