PDA

View Full Version : Another Olive Bowl

Vaughn McMillan
08-16-2006, 2:51 AM
Here's another cracked olive bowl. This is my second "real" bowl, so I'm still learning. I got the walls a bit thinner than on my last bowl, but I still have room for improvement. It's about 3 1/2" tall by 5 1/2" wide. Even though it's cracked, this was a hard piece of wood. It about beat me to death just getting it round after drying. Sharp gouges seemed to bounce off of it. (But that could also be my rookie technique.) I ended up using a round-nosed scraper on the inside, and a skew for most of the outside. I filled the cracks with instant decaf epoxy, and a few touch-ups with CA and sanding dust, and although it's not perfect, the infill came out OK. It's sanded to 600 grit then friction polished with Myland's, and the outside was buffed with with White Diamond compound. I'm not completely happy with the form...I was going for a shape reminiscent of Native American pottery, but I didn't quite nail it. Once I went to the donut chuck (then a jam chuck, to do more cleanup), I was having some problems keeping it centered. Ah well, the fun of learning. ;)

I apologize in advance for the quality of the pictures...

44952 44953

44955 44954

Comments and critiques are welcome. You can't be any more critical than I am already, so bring it on.

- Vaughn

Henry C. Gernhardt, III
08-16-2006, 8:22 AM
Vaughn, it looks to me like you did a great job with a challenging piece of wood. I'm glad you found a (in my humble opinion, the only) good use for instant decaf coffee---it does add to the character of the piece.