PDA

View Full Version : Did somethin' stupid.

Jonathon Spafford
08-16-2006, 2:02 AM
Ok.... I was trying to cut a piece of a (round) finished turning off on the bandsaw.... please don't make fun of me :cool: I wasn't using a v-block and the thing caught and spun. Somehow I ended up bending/twisting a section of my bandsaw blade. Is there any way I can unbend it or do I have to trash it. It is pretty bent... it scrapes against the blade guard every time it goes around. Any advice appreciated!!!

Jonathon

Vaughn McMillan
08-16-2006, 2:16 AM
I'm by no means an expert, but I think you toasted your blade.

- Vaughn

Bruce Shiverdecker
08-16-2006, 2:25 AM
Been there.......Done that. You can fix it A LITTLE. Take two pair of pliers and work the blade back as close to straight as you can. DO NOT do a lot of bending back and forth as that will harden it and make it break faster. You probably won't get it totally straight, but, it should be ok for some rough cutting.

Bruce

Jim Becker
08-16-2006, 9:44 AM
Although Bruce is correct you can attempt to "fix" the blade, it's probably best to just replace it. Band saw blades are "disposables" and it's usually best to keep a few extras "in stock", especially in the size/configuration you use the most.

Frank Fusco
08-16-2006, 10:04 AM
You can try laying it on an anvil and tapping out the crimp with a ball peen hammer (don't use the ball). It won't be perfect but you MAY be able to salvage it.

Scott Donley
08-16-2006, 10:34 AM
Not stupid, it couldn't be, I did the same thing two days ago trying to cut a 10X11 round blank in half:o .Who would of thought that little blade could have thrown that big chuck of wood that far. Sure woke up the dog that was sleeping about 4 ft away. Just consider it a RElearning experience and order a new blade. At 30 bucks a pop next time I think " I really should not do this " I won't :o

Dick Strauss
08-16-2006, 10:38 AM
Johnathon,