PDA

View Full Version : Coffee Table -Day by Day

Jeff Horton
08-12-2006, 7:36 PM
Sitting around this morning after moving a drafting table out of my shop to my buddies new office trying to decide what to work on. My lunchbox planner blades are dull. The rebuilt Powermatic needs blades and I have a ton of rough lumber in the shop and nothing to work with.

My wife says, "why don't you make me a coffee table out of the maple you have". OK, show me a photo. An hour latter I have found a plan for something similar and we settled on the size and I am in the shop pulling maple out of the lumber rack. Has to be new record for starting a project by several weeks in my house! They are usually discussed for weeks.

I thought it would be fun to document the project as it goes along. Of course I am putting myself on the spot too! As this this is my first time to attempt anything furniture wise that will really be seen and scrutinized by people.

Started with plan that I am not using. There are lot of hand sketches on there with my dimensions and notes. I am using (for the most part) their drawer slide design though.

http://www.kudzupatch.com/woodshop/coffee_table/rough_lumber.jpg

Scrounged out the best lumber and discovered some of my Maple was actually Oak in the wrong place in the rack. So there was much less than I thought and had to be careful and pick the best for the top. Lots of shorts for the other parts. Seems to be plenty though. As long as I don't make a major mistake!

http://www.kudzupatch.com/woodshop/coffee_table/aprons-cut.jpg

My first step was to cut the aprons (or skirts?) to length. Then sat them aside.

http://www.kudzupatch.com/woodshop/coffee_table/leg_blanks.jpg

I then cut my legs to (over) size and since I didn't have any thick maple I glued them up and clamped them. I want a 1.5" square.

http://www.kudzupatch.com/woodshop/coffee_table/face_apron.jpg