PDA

View Full Version : Biscuit Joiners?

Art Davis
08-12-2006, 12:28 PM
I am tackling a project that uses a lot of ply with biscuit joints (no gravy!) and hardwood trim. As a slow beginner, I recall reading a lot about them some ten or twelve years ago, but they seem to have faded a bit from the scene---at least in the mags. Are there problems with them? If so, what? And does anyone have any recommendations about which plate joiner to buy? I've seen the reviews, having all of my back issues of some ten or twelve ww mags, but---frankly---I don't trust them after having been bitten a few times by following their recommendations. Many of those tool reviews are clearly aimed at enhancing sponsorship rather than "telling it like it is."
Thanks.
Art

Dick Bringhurst
08-12-2006, 1:00 PM
I have the PC 557. The head on it is more versatile than most. A friend has a Lamelo (sp). They both do the job and are easy to use. Dick B.

Art Mulder
08-12-2006, 1:03 PM
Hi Art!

Oh, they're no longer a "new thing", so maybe they don't get as much press. But, I think they are pretty much everywhere.

I don't think they have any problems. Some purists aren't so fond of them, so sometimes they get badmouthed in web forums. But really, they're very convenient, very quick, and pretty strong too.

I'm a hobbyist, not a pro, so I don't use mine as much as some others.
That said, I have the DeWalt plate joiner, and it works just great. The one thing you might consider is cutting/filing the little flange in the dust port which sometimes gets jammed. (they put it there for safety, to keep out your fingers.)