PDA

View Full Version : Bandsaw Outfeed Table and Sled

Vaughn McMillan
08-07-2006, 1:10 AM
I have replaced the original text and pictures from this thread for reasons I won't discuss in public. To give the remaining posts continuity, I offer this:

I needed a sled for rough cutting logs on my bandsaw, and in the process
if designing one, I realized I also needed an outfeed table to keep the
sled stable. I studied other folks' bandsaw sleds and outfeed tables
here on SMC, and came up with my own over-engineered Rube Goldberg
version of several ideas I saw.

Vaughn McMillan
08-07-2006, 1:21 AM
Never mind.

Vaughn McMillan
08-07-2006, 1:34 AM
Never mind.

Tony Ward
08-07-2006, 1:56 AM
Best looking sled I've seen, well done!

Norman Hitt
08-07-2006, 2:14 AM
Nice Job there, Senor` McMillan. I've use a very similar method, (read, almost identical), to connect long infeed and outfeed tables to small jointers in the past with fold down legs to the floor and they worked quite well. I used steel angle but aluminum will work as well I think. For my leg adjusters, I just drilled a 6" deep hole into the bottom of the legs and tapped in "T" nuts, and then threaded long carriage bolts with a lock nut threaded onto them into the "T" nuts. I have since Embellished the adjuster design by adding rubber walking cane tips with a washer pressed into the bottom of it then inserting the carriage bolt's head and then pressing a washer down over the bolt, (sized to fit "snugly" into the rubber tip). The first washer keeps the bolt head from cutting the rubber tip as it is turned when adjusting, and the second, (top) washer keeps the tip from falling off the carriage bolt when the leg is lifted off the floor.

Looks like you're set to do some serious resawing now with that nice sled.

David Rose
08-07-2006, 2:35 AM
Vaughn,