PDA

View Full Version : NE Silkwood

Bernie Weishapl
08-06-2006, 9:18 PM
Here is my first roughed out NE. It is Silkwood from Dave Smith. It took me a little bit to figure how to turn it. When you hit the top edge it was like a jack hammer. Also when I got closer to the edge when doing the inside same thing. I did two of them today. One launched and lost half the bark. So will ebonize the rim or burn the rim and then finish it. Both are 6" across and 3 1/2" high. Both are in the DNA bath soaking now.

I also have a question. When putting this back on the lathe after drying what speed should a guy turn the inside at? Same for outside? Also any tips to make it easier when out around the tips? I have two cherry NE blanks waiting to turn but wanted some help first. Thanks.

Barry Stratton
08-06-2006, 9:35 PM
YOU GO DUDE!!!!! Looking good Bernie.

As for the speed to turn.....more than 500 and less that 1200......... but what do I know, I'm a rookie..........

Corey Hallagan
08-06-2006, 9:53 PM
You did good Bernie. I am not a bowl turner and the thought of one of those things coming off the lathe just scares the H out of me. I expect these will turn out just fine Bernie!

corey

Ken Fitzgerald
08-06-2006, 10:14 PM
Bernie..........nice rough out! In my limited experience there's 2 things I found that help me....One if in doubt...stop and sharpen the tool....2ndly and maybe someone with more experience will correct me.....When I'm start on the inside, I end up with the handle of the bowl gouge hanging out over the back side of the lathe....I'm taking the bevel and starting it parallel to the side of the bowl as I enter the wood. I hope this makes sense. Just like roughing out, you have to have faith and confidence and just go for it like you normally do. I'm sure you'll do fine! Good luck with it!

Bernie Weishapl
08-06-2006, 11:44 PM