PDA

View Full Version : Building a set of stairs...

Chuck Wintle
08-05-2006, 9:18 AM
I wish to build a set of stairs from a deck 50 inches high to the ground. the run is about 54 inches. I have no experience building stairs and, after comsulting a book on construction have figured out how to cut the stringer from a 2 x 10. my problem now is attaching them to the deck framing. what is the best/proper way to do that? in order to preserve the 7 in rise will i need to attach the stringer low on the deck or is there a way to bring the fuul height of the stringer to the deck frame?:confused:

Russ Massery
08-05-2006, 10:00 AM
I've cut a kerf across the edge of the stringer. Then inserted a joist hanger in to the slot. then nail it up.

Cliff Rohrabacher
08-05-2006, 10:03 AM
Sounds like you got the stringer laid out to have consistent steps and risers. That is the first challange.

Attaching them to the top and bottom can be done ins a variety os ways.

Think about how the load on the carriages will push them out and down. Then build to resist and absorb those loads.
I hung my 4 carriage 5' wide deck stairs by dadoing a 6*6 and bolting it to the 2*6 side of my deck. Each carriage is locked into a deep dado. At the bottom I set it so as to be pushing against a stepped cement pad.

There are other ways. You can 'key" the bottom using a 2*4 placed inset into a poured concrete landing and keyed into the carriages respectively.
Others have used angle iron to bolt to an existing concrete pad and the carriages.
The idea is to set the bottom as securely as possible as the bottom is the end that will give you the most trouble.

At the top:
A lot of folks simply let the carriages rest against the headerboard at the top and toe nail it. I don't like that as it "feels" insufficient but hey - - lots of them are done that way.

Al Killian
08-05-2006, 1:20 PM