PDA

View Full Version : What is DNA Bath?

Norris Randall
08-05-2006, 8:09 AM
Hello Folks,
I just found this web site and it is delightful to look around.
There have been several references to "DNA".
I went to Search and got no help. Please give additional information/directions regarding DNA.

Thanks a bunch.

Blake McCully
08-05-2006, 9:02 AM
Norris,
DNA refers to DeNatured Alcohol. It's used to rapidly stabilize wet and or green wood. Look at this site:
http://www.woodcentral.com/cgi-bin/readarticle.pl?dir=turning&file=articles_473.shtml.

I've been using it, very successfully, for quite a while. Follow his suggestions and you shouldn't have any problem with bowls cracking.

Check it out, great article.

Ernie Nyvall
08-05-2006, 9:05 AM
Yep, works good.

Bernie Weishapl
08-05-2006, 9:09 AM
I agree. Have been using it and haven't lost a bowl yet. Works great.

Stu Ablett in Tokyo Japan
08-05-2006, 9:43 AM
I'm a noob, compared to a lot of guys here, but I've too been very successful with it, not lost one bowl.

Cheers!

Dennis Peacock
08-05-2006, 10:22 AM
Welcome to SMC Norris..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Glad to see ya join the crowd here. :D DNA is a process of bowl blank drying that was brought about by Dave Smith, a fellow woodturner. It's been very popular and since I've learned about it, I've been using that method for about 2 years now and I have only lost 1 bowl blank our of about 50 that I've done using the DNA process. There's also a write up of the process I go through in the articles section here on SMC. I just need to write the other half of the article to make a completed, from start to finish, of a bowl. :o :rolleyes:

Andy Hoyt
08-05-2006, 10:24 AM
This should help, too.

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=13792

Don Baer
08-05-2006, 10:25 AM
Ya beat me to it Andy.

Dennis Peacock
08-05-2006, 10:33 AM
Thanks Andy....I was looking for that thread....you is just faister'n me. :)

George Conklin
08-05-2006, 10:46 AM