PDA

View Full Version : Easel Project

Hank Knight
07-31-2006, 11:38 AM
My daughter begins her Masters in Fine Arts graduate program at American University in DC the end of August. She needs a good studio easel, so I decided to build her one. I started back in the winter, but I had a 6 week interruption for out-of-town work. I'm closing in on it and I should have it done in a couple more weekends.

It's been an interesting project. It looked simple enough, but it's been a real challenge - and fun to build. The design is ours - my daughter's an mine; she's my technical consultant and she's had lots of input. I hammer veneered the paint box door with QSWO- a technique I've never tried before. It turned out well. I used hinges with 95 degree stops so the door works like a shelf when open. She can sort paint tubes and such on it, so I laminated the inside surface with high pressure laminate for easy cleaning.

The "feet" have ball castors on the back and levelers in the front. When she wants to move it around, all she has to do is pick up the front end and roll it wherever she wants it. The mast extends high enough for a 7' canvas - I hope that's enough capacity. Here are some pictures.

Frank Howell
07-31-2006, 2:27 PM
Dang Hank, that's a real beaut! That is sure to be an invaluable tool she'll use for years to come. Wonderful design, great timbers and a beautiful finish.

BTW: Hows about more detail on that Hammer Veneering? This is the first I've ever heard of that.

Hank Knight
07-31-2006, 3:10 PM
BTW: Hows about more detail on that Hammer Veneering? This is the first I've ever heard of that.

Frank,

Thanks for the kind words about the easel. I hope my kid enjoys it for a long time.