PDA

View Full Version : Bevel Up vs. Regular Smooth Plane

Hans Braul
07-30-2006, 7:38 PM
I have decided I need to invest in a high quality smooth plane. I am looking at two Lee Valley products - the #4 Smooth plane and the bevel up smoother plane. The advantage I can see with the bevel up plane is you can easily change blades to accommodate different grains (they sell 25, 38 and 50 degrees bevels). With the regular plane, cutting angle is fixed. The only thing I can see that the regular smooth plane has the the bevel up doesn't is a chip breaker. What are the pros and cons?

Thanks
Hans

Deirdre Saoirse Moen
07-30-2006, 8:44 PM
Bevel up planes don't have chipbreakers because they don't need them. Some bevel down planes don't have chipbreakers, either.

Gary Herrmann
07-30-2006, 9:54 PM
Hans, LV sells a #4 bevel up smoother and a #4 1/2 (the BUS). I've got the #4 1/2, among others. I'm not a plane expert. I tuned and honed the irons via scary sharp and was very pleased with the results when I used it to smooth the top of an occasional table I built. Prior to that, my only experience with using planes was with a LV low angle block to trim end grain to size.

I'm one of those guys that doesn't get as much shop time as I'd like. My goal is to increase the amount of work I do with hand tools. I suspect it will be a long road.

Buy what feels right to you, hopefully after you get a chance to try it.

John Todd
07-30-2006, 10:05 PM