PDA

View Full Version : Jointer Help Needed

Nathan Camp
07-29-2006, 11:39 AM
I recently bought a used 6" Delta Jointer (37-820). I've heard bad things about the fence on this guy, but that is not my issue.

I'm pretty new to jointers, so this may just be operator error, but when I feed wood into it, it fights back like mad. It just broke a plastic push stick. It only fights on the face of a board, seems to do edges just fine.

Knife blades are parallel to and even with the outfeed fence. Infeed fence looks parallel.

My first guess is dull knifes. How sharp is sharp? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Dennis Peacock
07-29-2006, 11:47 AM
Nathan,

jointing a board on it's "face" will fight you or push back on you especially if the knives are dull. Do NOT run your finger across the knives to test them out. A dull jointer knife will still cut you and cut you bad. DAMHIKT!!!!! :o

Get the knives sharpened, put them back on the jointer, align the knives, adjust outfeed and infeed tables and try it out again. A sharp set of knives will make a big difference, but, jointing a face will still take some effort but not like fighting a dog that wants out of it's fence. ;) :D

Oh Yea, WELCOME TO SMC Nathan..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Allen Bookout
07-29-2006, 12:03 PM
Welcome Nathan,

Also, how big of a bite are you taking? If you are using the scale it could be off and you are taking a much larger bite than you think that you are.

I may be off base but just a thought.

Allen

Dennis Peacock
07-29-2006, 12:21 PM
Welcome Nathan,

Also, how big of a bite are you taking? If you are using the scale it could be off and you are taking a much larger bite than you think that you are.

I may be off base but just a thought.

Allen

Excellent point Allen......(slapping forehead). :rolleyes:

Nathan Camp
07-29-2006, 12:51 PM
Excellent point Allen......(slapping forehead). :rolleyes: