PDA

View Full Version : Work with old Table saw or look for something newer

Marlow Wilson
07-25-2006, 12:15 AM
First things first hi there, I've been sneaking around absorbing knowledge from this forum for some time but only recently actually joined. I'm a student but have acquired a good number of tools over the past couple years and am now facing a fork in the road. I need a table saw for the next job I'm doing (a bar renovation with concrete countertops) and am working away from the my father's huge shop. He has offered to give me an old saw of his for free but I'm debating whether or not it is worth the time and fuss to get it going making decent cuts. The fence is not really workable (ie takes to much time to set up). but everything else is fine. It mostly just needs some TLC and a new fence I think.

Here are my questions

1) Is it feasible to get this thing cleaned up and decent? The top is quite flat (not perfect) but there is some rust.

2) Are these saws any good? I mean the design etc... am I missing out on something with it?

3) What route should I take with the fence? I've seen biesemeyer type fences around for reasonable amounts but know nothing about installing them on an old saw like this.

4) It is wired for 220 right now and I'd need to switch it back (it can be wired for both). How might I do this

There doesn't appear to be much or any arbor runout and the blade-miter slot parallelism seems to be reasonable. What other things should I look for.

With all this in mind should I bother or would I be better of getting a new powermatic 64A for $800 Can from a friend.

Thanks for the help and I'm sorry if this is too much.

Tyler Howell
07-25-2006, 12:20 AM
Welcome Marlow,
Clean her up and you should have a good contractor saw. I don't think you will get the precission (SP?) That you want for fine WW.
Power and a great fence are real important.
There are better saws for your $800.00 than the PM 64 IMHO

Darin Fritz
07-25-2006, 12:29 AM