PDA

View Full Version : 1rst post & latest project.

Frank Howell
07-20-2006, 5:29 PM
Hey folks,
This is my first post here. I've been lurking for a while and decided to dive on in.

I've been WWing for about 4 years now and really loving it. I mostly like to work up my own designs, I'm an ACADD IT Designer by trade, and a Mechanical Designer by Training. Started WWing because IT, (Telecom), drawings and design is pretty mind numbing and I really needed to exercise my creative side.

Here's my latest piece, a book stand for my parents. They have a huge book on North American birds.
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h187/Ice-Pirate/Woodworking/Bookstand/Finished/IMG_2984.jpg

Timbers are Jatoba, (Brazilian Cherry), for the drawer box and top, Tiger Maple for the legs, drawer face and ledger board, and Poplar for the innards. The inlay is a Cardinal on a branch and done in Paduak. The finish is Sam Maloof, oil/wax.

Lots of firsts for me on this project. My first Inlay,
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h187/Ice-Pirate/Woodworking/Bookstand/Finished/IMG_2950.jpg

My first attempt at making drawers, and a secret compartment which will contain a bottle of their favorite wine to celibrate with when they find it.
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h187/Ice-Pirate/Woodworking/Bookstand/Finished/IMG_2996.jpg

Finally, this was my first attempt at doing Thru-wedged Tennons, that attached the top to the legs.
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h187/Ice-Pirate/Woodworking/Bookstand/Finished/IMG_2946.jpg
Yeah, I know, the Walnut wedges should be going the other way, DOUGHT! I'm thinking though, that as small as they are, it shouldn't be too much of a problem.

The whole thing sets on a lazy susan so it will pivot around easy without scratching the top of the table it'll set on.

Hope you like it. Any and all critiques are encouraged and welcome, (thats how I learn). Thanks,

Frank Howell
(AKA Ice Pirate)

glenn bradley
07-20-2006, 5:32 PM