PDA

View Full Version : Tenoning jig-Woodcraft??

Jerry Olexa
07-19-2006, 10:28 AM
Always wanted a dedicated tenoning jig as opposed to my homemade wooden throw together. Woodcraft has their tenon jig on sale this month @ an attractive price (about $55). Any of you have experience with it either good or bad??Or do you prefer others?? I won't buy till i get your advice. Thanks guys...

Scott D Johnson
07-19-2006, 10:34 AM
I have nothing to compare it to, but it works good for me. It is heavy and has a good "fine adjustment screw". IMHO, it is one of those things that no matter who manufactures it, the concept is the same. Of course, some people may complain of the "durability" of the finish. This seems to be an area where many "import made tools", differentiate themselves from the "brand name". I do notice some of the paint flaking on it and it has only seen light use. Still makes square cuts though. My opinion is qualified by "I am a hobbyist only".

Mark Rios
07-19-2006, 10:41 AM
Jerry, about two years ago when I had really big ideas :rolleyes: :D , I did some research and the tenoning jig that most reviews liked was the Delta 34-184. It was a big, honkin', heavy thing. Here it is at Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00006S7C7/qid=1153318772/sr=8-1/ref=pd_bbs_1/103-9429181-2090267?%5Fencoding=UTF8&v=glance&n=228013

It looks different now so it must have gone through some changes. Whether or not it's the same as two years ago, I don't know.

Bob Childress
07-19-2006, 10:53 AM
Jerry, I've got my eye on that same jig. Let's see what everybody says.

Jerry Olexa
07-19-2006, 10:58 AM
The new Sept06 issue of American WWer has a review on tenon jigs. They liked the Delta but said it was pricey. They said buy Griz or the woodcraft with essentially same features except 2 handles on the Delta.

Allen Bookout
07-19-2006, 12:12 PM
Well Hello Jerry---I'm back,