PDA

View Full Version : Trials of buying and installing a new Dryer

Ned Bulken
07-16-2006, 4:37 PM
So, Lori and I have been coping with a busted dryer for a couple of months now, which translates to either drying on the line (no problem, but we've had lots of rain) or trips to the laundromat with wet laundry...

We had a nice chunk of gift money sitting there, and so yesterday we decided to buy a new Dryer... hop in the truck and trundle off to the blue Borg. We find the model we want, eventually get to the head of the line with the area Drone; Chris, who was Very helpful. He makes sure there is one left in the back room, and that it will be waiting for us at the front of the store.
"Honey while we're here, let's go look at fans" she says....

:eek:

"Yes dear," I say...

We pick out a fan, and I tote it plus some of the required accessories for the dryer to the front of the store, manfully avoiding the tool crib...

The Dronette at the register doesn't listen when I say 'plus that big box right next to you' twice... I finally get it through her head that the Dryer literally 4 feet from her register is Mine, and that yes, I'd like to buy it as well. sheesh.

We get the fan and the accesories in the cab of the truck, and I hand-truck the dryer out to the pickup. Several red vests (blue borg drones) in the area, noone offers to help load the dryer into my pickup.

Another Customer comes by and he and I tip it up and into the pickup. (they're not heavy, just bulky).

Since we're right next door to the megamart, Lori stops in and buys dinner, which we go home and cook on our new grill.

we get home, cook dinner and clean out the laundry room of all of the crud that got dumped in front of the non-functioning dryer.

Eventually we get to removing the dryer, starting with the gas line...

"crescent wrench? I thought you Had a crescent wrench honey" she says