PDA

View Full Version : New Router

Steve Roxberg
07-13-2006, 3:33 PM
I will be purchasing a router lift for my table in the next few weeks.

I currently own a Bosch 1617 2.25 HP Variable speed router that I like and have multiple bases for.

I've considered getting a 3 1/4 horse for the table, and yes I just missed the Amazon deal, but I assume that they will be back on sale again.

Or should I buy another Bosch D-Handle 1617 and gain the advantage of having a bunch of routers that can share parts?

I will raise panels, but haven't yet. But even then I've assumed I'd need to make multiple passes with either.

I am not a production shop, do I need 3/25 hp?

scott spencer
07-13-2006, 3:52 PM
I've raised panels on both a 2hp and a 3hp router, and both will do the trick. You don't NEED a 3hp router but it makes much easier work of it and requires fewer passes. It's also alot easier on the motor of the bigger machine.

Ted Jay
07-13-2006, 11:31 PM
I will be purchasing a router lift for my table in the next few weeks.

I currently own a Bosch 1617 2.25 HP Variable speed router that I like and have multiple bases for.

I've considered getting a 3 1/4 horse for the table, and yes I just missed the Amazon deal, but I assume that they will be back on sale again.

Or should I buy another Bosch D-Handle 1617 and gain the advantage of having a bunch of routers that can share parts?

I will raise panels, but haven't yet. But even then I've assumed I'd need to make multiple passes with either.

I am not a production shop, do I need 3/25 hp?

After looking at all the options that are availiable I settled on the Triton Plunge router... see my thread http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=39353
Ted

Brian Clevenger
07-14-2006, 12:04 AM
I have the JessemFX that I use with my 1617evs. I like it a lot, but I do have to make multiple passes on raised panels. Lucky for me, my wife doesn't really like the look of the raised panel doors, so it has quickly become a non-issue.