PDA

View Full Version : Bob Vaughn's Video on Setting Jointer/Planer Knives

Tom Hamilton
07-12-2006, 6:43 AM
Fellow Creekers:

The folks at OWWM.com have posted Bob Vaughn's video about how to set jointer and planers knives on the Google Video site at: http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-572604587960322121&hl=en.

Bob is a regular contributor to FWW and a maintains woodworking machine for a living.

I ran a copy on my laptop in the shop when I recently installed new knives in my 1950 Boice-Cranee 6" jointer. His tips and specific instructions made it easy.

Hope you all enjoy. Best regards, Tom

Stu Ablett in Tokyo Japan
07-12-2006, 7:16 AM
Very cool, but how do I save a copy onto my laptop for my next knife set up? :confused:

Cheers!

Stu Ablett in Tokyo Japan
07-12-2006, 8:24 AM
Never mind, I figured it out, you click the "Download" button..... :p :o

Al Willits
07-12-2006, 9:17 AM
As a newbie, I gotta says thanks a ton, having just battled the assembly of both a new planer and jointer, this video makes setting the jointer blades much easier.

I have it downloaded and will put it on a CD to make sure it don't disappear.

Any more like this?

Al

John Gregory
07-12-2006, 1:11 PM
Great video. Is this a good deal for a dial indicator? Click here (http://www.littlemachineshop.com/products/product_view.php?ProductID=1782)

Tom Hamilton
07-12-2006, 2:01 PM
Hi John: That's actually the one I bought a couple of years ago. Just used it for the first time in conjunction with the Vaughn video. This dial indicator was mentioned in a woodworking magazine article some time ago and this source was the "best buy."

I'm guessing it is adequate for our woodworking needs. NASA probably uses something a little more exact. :D

Best regards, Tom, in Houston, also with a Little Machine Shop dial indicator.

David Croteau
07-12-2006, 2:36 PM