PDA

View Full Version : newby needs help with eastern red cedar

Vince Williams
07-10-2006, 10:43 PM
I am very new to the laser world, in fact my machine will not be here until the end of the week. My question is does anyone have any suggestions on engraving red cedar?? My primary projects for the time being is engraving cedar chest! Thanks in advance for any assistance

Dave Fifield
07-11-2006, 2:16 AM
Hi Vince,

Hope your laser arrives okay....let us know how you get on with it. Which model did you go for?

For engraving, you should always try a sample of the wood first. Even within a species, various batches of wood will need different amounts of power/speed for best effect. When you are happy with the settings, record them in a small notebook (or on your computer) for future reference. Only when you are happy with the results should you actually start the main job - you will waste a lot of material if you don't!

Your laser's user manual will have recommendations as to what settings to start from. Look for the settings for engraving wood at 600dpi (or whatever density your artwork is). For my 45W laser engraver, Epilog suggests 45% speed/100% power for engraving wood at 600dpi. I have found this setting burns too much on most woods (probably because the laser is actually more powerful than the manufacturer states - I gather that the 45W number is the minimum power output!). I generally use something like 35% power/85% speed.

You should experiment using a small section of the picture you are going to engrave.

BTW, do you have PhotoGraV software? I have found this an indispensible tool when it comes to preparing pictures for lasering, on all kinds of material. You can spend an inordinate amount of time trying to get the settings right manually. PhotoGraV does it in seconds and gets it almost perfect every time.

Cheers for now,
Dave F.

Vince Williams
07-11-2006, 8:21 AM