PDA

View Full Version : sanding belts breaking

Mark Pruitt
07-09-2006, 9:37 PM
I think I might have set a record tonight......

15 sanding belts snapped while in use, one after another. Some didn't even make contact with the workpiece; just snapped a few seconds after I pulled the trigger. I think that these belts have been sitting for too long in the box. I remember reading somewhere that the adhesive used to join sanding belts will deteriorate after a period of time, and I suppose that is what happened here. However, I have a couple of belts out of the same batch that are running just fine, killing the theory that the problem is with the sander. (It isn't.)

Some years ago I saw a "bargain" buy; a large quantity of belts at a discounted price. THat might have been OK for someone who uses a belt sander every day, but as a hobbyist, I was probably wrong to bite into that kind of a deal. Another lesson learned.:rolleyes:

Gary Breckenridge
07-09-2006, 11:37 PM
:cool: Me too. My shop is in the basement and there sometimes is a humidity problem that ruins the belts. Some of the cheaper ones hold up as well as crepe paper. Sometimes they just get kind of limp. I guess the cure is not to buy too many, too cheap and not store them in a humid place.:)

Allen Bookout
07-09-2006, 11:47 PM
Yep, They do that after a while.

I remember some guy saying that the way to fix the belts and go ahead and use them was to tape them back together with duct tape. Might be worth a try.

If you do try it let us know how it works out.

I probably should put some kind of disclamer here but not being an attorney I have no clue how to do it.

Allen

Vaughn McMillan
07-10-2006, 1:55 AM
I think you probably did set a record. :)