PDA

View Full Version : Proper oils to use when using oilstones?

Kevin Blunt
07-09-2006, 1:43 PM
Hey guys,
Quick question. I am about to do some initial shaping of some older plane irons and am going to be using a carborundum medium/coarse oilstone. What is the proper oil to use with this? I am thinking about trying mineral oil because I think I read that was the best oil to use somewhere before. Any thoughts or opinions? Thanks a bunch.

harry strasil
07-09-2006, 2:05 PM
Any light oil works well, the oil just washes the steel outa the stone pores anyway, I have used honing oil, 3 in 1 oil, olive oil, and sewing machine oil, just don't make the mistake of using WD40 as it leaves a film behind that becomes gummy and will plug things up and sometimes ruin a stone.

Gabriele Piccini
07-09-2006, 5:09 PM
Hi All,
firtly I must say I am not an expert :rolleyes: but lately I try myself well with kerosene. Once I added a bit of light oil but now I use kerosene alone.
For expert: am I in wrong?

Cheers
Gabriele

harry strasil
07-09-2006, 6:09 PM
I am no expert, but kerosene is an exellent medium to use, just be careful of fumes flashing.

Brent Smith
07-09-2006, 6:54 PM
I found that using kerosene alone led to my stones clogging quicker. Mixing kerosene with oil at a ratio of 1-2 worked well for me. The kerosene makes for quicker cutting and the oil keeps the steel floating free. Mixing is all well and good, but the simplest solution is a commercial honing oil like Norton's.

William Daly
07-10-2006, 11:59 AM
I was told by a woodworking instructor to use #2 diesel fuel, which is available at most gas stations. It has a much lower flash point than kerosene.

Dave Anderson NH
07-10-2006, 12:38 PM